C8 Familiarity with product modelling techniques

Posted: October 7, 2010 in CORE

Initial knowledge 2

Current working level 2.5

So  far I have a small amount of experience in modelling techniques.  I have produced models in basic card and corrugated card from a net form.  I have also produced small packaging models in sign foam by turning, sanding or cutting the foam.  Then preparing it using wet and dry paper to give it a cleaner finish.  Then spraying them with a primer and going on to spray paint them.

I have also produced small mock-up models by turning wood using the spindle technique and the circular sander and from these wooden models I have vacuum formed plastic over them to create a finished product.

I will be looking to develop a wider knowledge of modelling techniques over the course of the year perhaps producing a greater volume in a more varied range of materials.

Recently I have had to produce scale models for my plate storage unit.  As I found out it was vital to produce them to scale because what I thought was the correct size initially was too small for my designated design, following that I created one that I thought would be big enough which it was, however it was not really an economical use of space.  Finally I downsized which gave me the appropriate dimensions to produce my final product.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I do not underestimate the importance of modelling and in future projects I intend to explore all manners of materials and media.  Having begun producing designs using computer aided design I now intend to produce some working scale models with the aid of computer manufacture.

Although I have developed a competent knowledge of using the 2D design and the Pro Desktop programme I don’t think I utilised them to their best ability during Deans project (please see C5).  On producing my 2D designs, when I came to manufacture them on the laser cutter I vastly misjudged the dimensions of them and so it was important to use spare bits of perspex to get the right size required for my ambiance light and I guess in a way this was modelling in itself as it helped me to achieve the correct size for the stand and the hole for the acrylic tube to run through it which did take a number of attempts.  I feel satisfied with this process as I had to source my own acrylic for the final design and had I jumped straight into the cutting a lot of it could have been wasted.

Again coinciding with the plate rack valuable lessons were learnt about size and dimensions and so the importance of modelling within the design process is apparent.  If anything I intend on introducing the modelling earlier into my forthcoming projects as a way of developing my designs because what looks correct on paper can be vastly misjudged when brought into the 3rd dimension.  It is apparent that modelling is an integral component of the design process and my aim is to fully utilize the process at the earliest opportunity in the future.

For ED320 I decided to produce a scale model (1:50) of how my space saving unit would be constructed.  It was a useful process as it gave me an indication of where the joints were going to fit within my product.  It threw up some questions as to where I needed to feature housings to accommodate paneling and gave me indications as to where I could improve upon the initial idea for instance the introduction of a back bar to add support.  It was quite a laborious process and in reality for this project I felt that the model I produced on PRO desktop was  perhaps more relevant as unlike the plate rack project it was not viable to produce a full scale model, although as an early indication of what laid ahead in the construction of the design it certainly was not without its merits.

modelling mortise and tenons


Leave a Reply

