C7 Construction of working drawings

Posted: October 7, 2010 in CORE

Initial knowledge 1

Current working level 3

Although having never had to do a working or construction drawing I am certainly aware of the process.  Working drawings and specifications are probably the main tools used by a person or technician who has the task of constructing a product.  A working drawing should give a complete graphic description of  how a product fits together and how it should be constructed.  A set of working drawings can be both general and detailed with general drawings including plans and projections with the detailed drawings focusing on different sections and giving a more specific description of that part of the design.  A working drawing is the final ‘constructed’ drawing and is an important part of the design process.  It will usually consist of a front, side and plan view of a design but it usually co-insides with the complexity of the idea.  Dimensions in the drawing are necessary  so that any person looking at the working drawing would be able to manufacture the product.   Working drawings should be precise and drawn to scale e.g. 1:3 and it should be technically correct as a way of showing truly how a product is going to look.

In ED216 when creating my plate rack it was a fairly simple idea and so I did not have to go into huge technical detail about specific components of the product.  Although in my final design I did show different projections of the product and how it will look in 2 point perspective.

Plate rack final design

This is quite a basic drawing in all honesty, having looked further into working drawings I understand that the whole nature of them is to be an accurate representation of the final product and to also show how it is constructed.  My project for ED320 is certainly more technical than the plate rack and my aim will be to produce a professional portfolio with accurate working drawings throughout the design process.  I will be looking to produce a final presentation piece of technical accuracy and detail with the aid of a drawing board, T square and other instruments to take my drawings onto a higher level of professionalism.  I will be looking to create exploded view drawings that did not feature in my last project but will help show the construction of certain aspects of the design.There is also an application on Pro Desktop I will explore before the year is out that helps give an accurate working drawing of a design created with orthographic projections and dimensions.

For ED320 I have included exploded diagrams created using a drawing board and set squares drawn to scale 1:5 with a 30 degree isometric projection.  My final orthographic projections were again created on the drawing board but to scale 1:10.  I feel this represents a greater knowledge of constructing working drawings than I included in the first two projects, and also allows the reader to visually understand how my space saving unit will be created

Leave a Reply

