C6 Command of visual communication techniques

Posted: October 7, 2010 in CORE

Initial knowledge 2

Current working level 3

Prior to undertaking this course I did have a knowledge of basic visual presentation techniques.  I used to use various media when designing packaging in my previous course and these would include the use of graphic fine liners, pencil crayons, pastels, watercolours and monograph graphic pencils or indeed a mixture.  I have a knowledge of perspective drawing and can do 1 point, 2 point or 3 point drawings depending on the subject area.  It is an area that I enjoy working on as I feel  happier with a drawing once I have sketched and rendered it as I can  look at the design as complete.  I like to think that rendering enhances my drawings and allows me to present my work with a greater strength in visual communication.  I think it allows me to convey a depth to a 2 dimensional drawing and in some cases allows the onlooker to perhaps see how different materials will look.

However,  I have been told that I spend too much time sometimes rendering my initial ideas when a simple line drawing can introduce the idea and rendering can be saved for its development.  I am slightly stubborn in the fact that I have always worked a certain way and I like all of my pages to have strong visual communication as well as a design process.  One thing I need to do is get a balance correct as having undertaken Bhav’s project I did spend a lot of time with my presentation of ideas but I need to be careful of avoiding the trap of concentrating to much on the aesthetics of an idea rather than the content of its value.  In order to improve my visual communication I was made aware of marker pens being used as a media for more professional designers and although I had not used them before I thought it would be an opportunity to practise with them for ED216.   Here are some of the results.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

A lot of these were initial ideas and I recognise the fact I could have kept them  looser and more  sketchy in order for my ideas not to be pinned down too early and save the main rendering for development work later on in the project.  I will bare this in mind for my next project and rather than get bogged down in spending a lot of time rendering the initial ideas, maybe produce a larger body of designs to help improve my development and save the more impressive visual communication for later on in the design process.  It has been a while since I have drawn but it is one of my favourite parts of the design process and in the forthcoming project for ED302 I will be looking to improve on what I feel is a subject I am competent in to take my drawings to the next level and make them more professional.

For ED302 I took a slightly different approach.  I produced all my drawings first using fine liner and annotated them and then moved on to the next sheet, as such I produced a large body of work without drawing and rendering each page 1 by 1 and I found it a more efficient way of working, however………….. I don’t seem to be able to resist going back to the drawings and trying to enhance them  I wasn’t a fan of having pages and pages of black and white and so admittedly I did go back and render them all!  After the first page I started to wonder why as I new then I’d have to do the lot but looking through my folder I do get a sense of satisfaction (most of the time) that I made the effort and I tried to use a few different techniques that were slightly looser and quicker but still offered good visual communication.

Leave a Reply

