C5 Familiarity with computer aided design and modelling

Posted: October 7, 2010 in CORE

Initial knowledge 1

Current working level 3

To be honest, prior to the course I had only a little knowledge of using computer aided design with a programme called RHYNO.  For my ambience light project I have begun to explore different types of programmes including 2D design and PRO desktop.  I am enjoying learning how to use the programmes and their features, and although the standard of the drawings may seem a little basic, I intend on using these programmes a lot more so I can realise their full potential and let them aid my designing

mood light 1 word mood light 2 n 3 word 5n6 word

My next step is to aim to produce my drawings on 2D design into fully operating models.  I have explored some of the features of the programme and intend to use the laser cutter to cut the shapes out in different sizes and angles so I can produce a 3 dimensional model before producing my final ambience light with the electrics that coincide with it.

whirlpool lights works whirlpool 2 works

Further 2D designs of this manner can be viewed at http://www.aidanross1.wordpress.com

As well as experimenting with 2D design I have also been playing around with Pro Desktop, although my first few tries are getting to know the package, I am fully aware of its power and intend to produce more complex designs as my confidence grows

ambiance light 1 colour.alb ambiance light 2 pro word ambiance light pro 3 word

5th word final design print screen final edit word

Following on from these designs I used the laser cutter to recreate them in acrylic, whilst allowing to get a sense of colour, shape and size for my final design.

this turned out to my final design but it was too large

I needed to learn how to re-size 2D design

2 colours of acrylic layered

A more suitable size for my lamp

modelling and layering my final design

my final model

angle from the base

Following ED216, I feel that I have certainly got to grips with the basic use of the programmes 2D design and Pro Desktop.  I self taught and had to do a lot of trial and error before being able to produce the work that I finally submitted.  I felt this was the best way to help me learn as although it was great to be shown the basics and in truth of utter importance,  I found that I was able to engage myself with the programme and although completely frustrating at times, it gave me a certain background knowledge of the way they operate and their potential.  Although competent,  my ambitition now is to be fully confident, in reflection I perhaps did not use the programmes to their full potential for producing computer manufactured models.  I am aware of the power that these programmes possess  but did not feel I reached my own or their  limit and did not use Pro Desktop to make any significant models using its dimensional prowess but instead chose to focus more on its visual and graphic comunication details as a way of portraying my designs.  I was however able to help certain classmates with different issues regarding their own work and felt a sense of achievement having put a lot of hours into developing my own knowledge.

The key for me now is to take on the knowledge I have so far built up and actively use it to produce not only designs, but full scale, dimensionally correct models and explore the use of machinery such as the 3d router to build on what in reflection I feel is a competent start.

For ED302 I decided that as well as making a foam board model I would also utilise PRO desktop to produce a dimensionally correct CAD model to feature in my folio.  After a more in depth look at  the program earlier on in the semester I felt I had a better understanding of how to dimension components and also how to create individual components and then mate, align or center axis them to form a full model.  For my space saving unit I found the process of creating the individual pieces of timber long winded but useful not only to see how the product will look but where I needed to apply things like housings to fit the panels featured in my designs.  All components were created using dimensioned toggle construction lines to get an accurate representation of what I would actually be producing and by aligning then mating the components I was able to assemble the individual components to form a full frame and the final product.

I found the process extremely useful as I was able to see how joints would fit, it indicated if a joint would not work, for instance if there were multiple joints on a thin piece of timber I could see they were overlapping and was able to change my design to accommodate the intersecting pieces.  I am definitely pleased I chose to expand on my CAD modelling as I feel it is the sort of thing you need to keep doing on a fairly regular basis in order to improve and refresh already gathered knowledge, it was a slightly frustrating process and at times I was not sure whether it was the program or just me making errors either way it seemed like pro Desktop  didn’t like me but I persevered and was satisfied with the results and and satisfied that I had expanded my knowledge and I now feel competent in the different aspects of CAD and dimensioned modelling.

example of CAD modelling

Leave a Reply

